Skip to main content

Pepperdine Celebrates Eight Howard A. White Award for Teaching Excellence Recipients

December 8, 2021 | 1 min read

2021 Howard A. White Award RecipientsOn November 3, 2021, Pepperdine University celebrated the eight recipients of the Howard A. White Award for Teaching Excellence at the Pepperdine Honors event, which recognizes faculty and staff achievements and honors their years of service to the University. The Howard A. White Award, named after Pepperdine’s fifth president, marks the highest distinction given to Pepperdine professors and acknowledges outstanding teachers who embody the University’s commitment to excellence, inspire students to think critically and creatively about the world, and instill a passion for lifelong learning.

Pepperdine provost Jay Brewster and associate provost Lila Carlsen presented the awards in two categories to professors at each of Pepperdine’s five schools. The first category recognizes faculty who are tenured and have served for six or more years, while the second category is reserved for faculty who are not yet tenured and have taught at the University for fewer than six years. Below is a list of the awardees in both categories:

2021 Category I Awardees

  • Mark Allen
  • John D. Barton
  • Richard L. Cupp Jr.
  • Kay Davis
  • Chris Doran
  • Zhike Lei

2021 Category II Awardees

  • Jillian Alderman
  • Klive (Soo Kwang) Oh

To learn more about the Howard A. White Award for Teaching Excellence and the 2021 recipients, visit the award’swebsite.